Andy Warhol | Ai Weiwei at NGV

Null

As a bit of belated birthday treat to myself I took a day trip to Melbourne to specifically visit the Andy Warhol – Ai Weiwei exhibition at the National Gallery of Victoria. I was greeted in Melbourne by stereotypical Melbourne weather. Cloudy and windy and cold and eventually pouring rain. Not ideal for being a walking tourist. 

All photos taken with the iPhone 6 and edited with Lightroom, which I still don’t know how to use properly. As an aside, I don’t bring my DSLR with me at all anymore. Much too heavy and less convenient, which is a shame because sometimes a phone just isn’t good enough in low light or if you want to zoom.

Null
Null
Null
Null
Null
Null
Null
Null
Null
Null
Null
Null

I passed through the gift shop on my way out and bought a bunch of postcards, a tote bag and the exhibition’s substantial and discounted book. It makes for a great coffee table book and I love it. It’s pretty heavy though and was weighing me down for the rest of the day. See here for a blurb. Sold out online, unfortunately.

After exiting through the gift shop I think there was a second part of the exhibition that I missed. I think I was supposed to go past the bicycle exhibit, which is what greets you first when you enter the gallery, and through to another area. However, once you exit the gift shop you’re back in the foyer which makes it look like that’s the end. At least to me. On Instagram there’s photos of exhibits that I didn’t see like a photo booth and some superhero stuff. So that’s a little bit of a fail on my part. However, trying to live without regrets so alas but not the end of the world.

To be honest, some of the exhibits I did think like “How is that art?” Or I could do that. I think there was an exhibit where it was a bag of either laundry powder or milk powder and I was just puzzled. I suppose this requires further reading of that lovely book that now sits upon my living room table.

One thought on “Andy Warhol | Ai Weiwei at NGV

Leave a Reply

